A Few of My Favorite Things: A Holiday Gift Guide

As a Jewish kid, I always felt like my holiday, Hanukkah, sucked compared to Christmas. The lights on houses, Santa, the tree! As I grew up, I realized that the season generally is just a lot of fun. I truly enjoy giving my family and friends gifts, tokens of our love and friendship. The problem with the age of discounted Amazon is that people are suddenly harder to shop for. Since Hanukkah is so early this year (Thanksgivikkah post coming soon!), my gifts are all wrapped. What does that mean for you? A fun little list of my favorite gifts. I hope it inspires you this holiday season. 

Things My Friends and Family Should Look Forward To: 

My first choice for the person who has 100 different eye shadows is a 3, 6, or 12 month subscription to Birchbox. Every month for the selected subscription time, the recipient will get a monthly box filled with 4-6 premium brand samples, based on their profile. Products include makeup, hair care and styling products, jewelry, home accents, gourmet food, and fragrances. Three months $30, six months $60, one year $110, Women’s Ultimate Collection $200. 

I’ve never been in love with a lipstick before. That was until I tried ModelCo Party Proof Lipstick Trio. In a set of classic reds and coral, or neutrals with pink and nudes. This formula is rich and hydrating, and the color lasts forever. Highly recommended! Trio, Classics or Neutrals, $24.00.

We all miss Nora Ephron. Luckily, we have her books and films to cherish. We also have The Most of Nora Ephron. This hefty book is filled with her reflections on life, love, politics, her career, and even includes a screenplay. It ends with a list titled Things I Will Miss Most. Readers will laugh, cry, and fall in love with Nora Ephron all over again. $35.00

I don’t know why, but I love these Upcycled Gold Dinosaur Planters. Made by an artist in Portland, OR, these dinosaurs were once plastic toys. There is just something about them that could brighten any desk. $15 for one, $27 for two

Have kids? Then you should definitely check out this Doll World Pram. Fits dolls up to 19″ and is quite stylin’. $59.00. 

Unless you live in Florida like me, it’s cold out. That means you needs socks. What better than Superhero Socks with Built-In Cape? Answer: Nothing. $9.99. 

Opening bottles with your eyes, ears, and or other body part is so college. Get an instant upgrade with the Stout Bottle Opener. Walnut base has either 60 or 100 pounds of magnetic pull force, allowing it hold 52 or 100 bottle tops, respectively. $65 for 60lbs of magnetic force, $99.00 for 100lbs of magnetic force. 

There is always one person that has everything. My suggestion? Head to Heifer International. This wonderful non-profit allows you to buy livestock for families in the Global South. By giving animals, families can eat from their eggs, drink milk, and sell extras in their local market. Animals can also breed. Remember, if you give a man a fish, you feed him for one day. If you teach a man to fish, you feed him for life. Full gifts begin at $20 and go upwards of $500. Price sharing for larger cost animals begin at $10. 

Leave a Reply

